2014 NIGERIA FOOTBALLER OF THE YEAR: Popular Side Award Nominees and Winners

 Popular Side Award (PSA) allows fans to nominate and vote online ahead of Nigeria Sports Award. PSA is actually independent of the sports Award, but acts as a kind of prediction or perhaps a check of those fans are rooting for, ahead of the award proper.

Nigeria Sports Award night will be coming up on Thursday, November 13, 2014. Right here, you can check those fans nominated and voted as winners.

PSA is only interested in recognizing and celebrating Nigeria footballers who were outstanding each year, and would not bother you about the rest of the sports awards.

We believe fans are the actual consumers of football and are in a better position to nominate and vote winners. The ones who ate the pudding can tell the taste. This is the reason PSA allows  fans to vote online without any form of censor or any added weight to the unedited voting.  This year voting started September 1st and ended October 30th, 2014. Two weeks ahead of the Nigeria Sports Awards’ gala night.

Below are the nominees and winners of the 2014 Popular Side Award:

1. PSA Honorary Award


WINNER: Godswill Akpabio, His Excellency Governor of Akwa Ibom State, for the successful completion of the ultra modern Akwa Ibom Stadium.

2. Sports Person of the Year Award

Nominees are:
  • Blessing Okagbare                  Points  356
  • Asisat Oshoala                        Points  358           
  • Vincent Enyeama                    Points  124
  • Godswill Akpabio                   Points  162

WINNER: Asisat Oshoala (Won FIFA U-20 World Cup Golden Ball and Golden Boot. She also won AWC Golden Bal).

 3. Football Coach of the Year Award

Nominees are:
  • Stephen Keshi                         Points  150
  • Manu Garba                            Points  80
  • Peter Dedevbo                                    Points  350
  • Edwin Okon                           Points  320

WINNER: Peter Dedevbo (Led Nigeria’s Super Falconets to FIFA U-20 World Cup Finals).     

4. Men Footballer of the Year Award

Nominees are:
  • John Mikel Obi                       Points  55
  • Ahmed Musa                          Points  284
  • Vincent Enyeama                    Points  612
  • Ogeniyi Onazi                         Points  76

WINNER: Vincent Enyeama (Captained Nigeria’s Super Eagles to 2nd round, FIFA World Cup; the only African player who made FIFA – XI after the 1st Round of the competition).

5. Women Footballer of the Year Award

Nominees are:
  • Asisat Oshoala                        Points  701
  • Desire Oparanozie                   Points  104
  • Courtney Dike                                    Points  98
  • Precious Dede                         Points  97

WINNER: Asisat Oshoala (Won FIFA U-20 World Cup Golden Ball and Golden Boot. She also won AWC Golden Ball).

PS: If you disagree with PSA, comment below and let us know your own nominees and winners as well.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.