2016 Africa Footballer of Year: what Are the Chances of Iheanacho, Mikel and Musa - Shortlisted As Nominees?

CAF released the list of 30 players shortlists for the 2016 African Footballer  of the Year Award with three Nigerians - Kelechi Iheanacho, John Obi Mikel and Ahmed Musa - making the cut.

Iheanacho's nomination is in recognition of  his superb form with Manchester City that saw him score eight goals in 26 Premier League appearances for Manuel Pellegrini's side in his debut season.

For Mikel, his dogedness and consistency in playing the yoo man in a troubled season for Chelsea and the Nigeria national team, while Musa’s exploits with CSKA Moscow before joining Leicester City earned him a mention in the shortlist.

But former Nigeria international, Etim Esin, has played down the chances of any of the Nigerian stars emerging as winner of 2016 CAF Africa Player of the Year Award.

 "Though, Iheanacho and Musa were on top of their game last season... Especially Iheanacho who was a kind of surprise debutant in the star studded Man City team... Perhaps, he will be a more serious contender this new season in progress." Esin analysed.

"For me is either going to be the duo from Leicester city - Riyad Mahrez or Islam Slimanor both of Algeria... Or perhaps,  the Borussia Dortumd striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon, winner of the award last year."

We would like to know your own take on the chances of the CAF Award nominees. Please, lets have your opinion in the commentary box below.


1. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
2. El Arabi Hillel Soudani (Algeria & Dinamo Zagreb)
 3. Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)
4. Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon & Antalyaspor)
 5. Benjamin Mounkandjo (Cameroon & Lorient)
 6. Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire & PSG)
 7. Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United)
 8. Yao Kouasi Gervais ‘Gervinho’ (Cote d’Ivoire & Hebei Fortune)
9. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)
10. Mohamed El Neny (Egypt & Arsenal)
11. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)
 12. Andre Ayew (Ghana & West Ham)
13. Victor Wanyama (Kenya & Tottenham)
14. William Jebor (Liberia & Wydad Athletic Club)
15. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
16. Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
17. John Mikel Obi (Nigeria & Chelsea)
18. Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)
19. Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Leicester City)
 20. Cedric Bakambu (DR Congo & Villareal)
21. Yannick Bolasie (DR Congo & Everton)
22. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
23. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
24. Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
25. Itumeleng Khune (South Africa & Kaizer Chiefs)
26. Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk)
27. Aymen Abdennour Tunisia & Valencia)
 28. Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Sunderland)
29. Dennis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
30. Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.