Champions: FC Ifeanyi Uba Wins Federations Cup 2016 - In Grand Style

FC IfeanyiUbah, also known as Anambra Warriors,  emerged Champions of the 2016 Federation Cup competition after a 5-4 penalty shoot out defeat of Nasarawa United at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos.

Both teams battled to a 0-0 draw in regulation time at the finale watched by over 15, 000 spectators which included  Sports Minister Solomon Dalung,  Nasarawa State Governor Umar Tanko Al-Makura, Lagos State Sports Commission, Deji Tinubu and the full compliment of the Executive Committee and Management of Nigeria Football Federation led by the president, Amaju Pinnick.

In the shoot out, Seun Sogbeso, whose goal from the penalty spot steered Nasarawa United to the final at the expense of Enyimba FC in Ibadan, saw his own kick saved by Warriors’ goalkeeper Uche Okafor to hand the trophy to the boys from Nnewi.

By this result, FC Ifeanyi Uba has won its first major trophy since the team emerged at flight football in Nigeria and the team manager of Nnewi Billionaire club said it is the beginning of good things to come.

You recall that FC Ifeanyi Uba finished third in the recently concluded Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL)... that and this surely qualify the club to taste African ccontinental competition  in the coming season

No comments

Powered by Blogger.