3 Times Africa's Best: Assisat Oshoala of Nigeria Wins Again - 2017 CAF Women Player of the Year Award

Oshoala was announced winner of the prestigious award at the CAF Awards on Thursday, January 4 in Accra, Ghana.

The Nigeria international beat the other finalists Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa and UWC Ladies) and Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon and CSKA Moscow).

The 23-year-old had an impressive year in her debut season in China with Dalian Quanjian.

The Nigeria international who is the current holder of the award scored 12 goals for Dalian Quanjian in the Chinese Women’s Super League. She was voted the best striker in the league.

She also helped Dalian Quanjian to the Chinese Super Cup title, scoring a brace in a 5-3 win in the final over Shangai.

This is a third win for the Nigerian star in four years she will be winning the award and one less than fellow Nigeria legend Perpetual Nkwocha who won it four times..

The Awards winners in full:

Men's Player of the Year: Mohamed Salah (Egypt)

Women's Player of the Year Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Youth Player of the Year Patson Daka (Zambia)

Coach of the Year Hector Cuper (Egypt)

Club of the Year: Wydad Casablanca (Morocco)

National Team of the Year: Egypt

Women's National Team of the Year: South Africa

Football Leader of the Year: Ahmed Yahya (Mauritania)

Legends Award: Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)

No comments